Skip to main content

Fried rice

 Konbanwa!    I am a working mom/wife who lives in KY.

I've been thinking about starting my own blog, mainly because.... I really don't have close friends near by.  I am from Okinawa, Japan and moved here in 2016 since my husband is from here.
Don't get me wrong, I do have friends but most of them are in different time zone, if not.... we are all moms so you know how it is.

Anyway, as bad as this COVID-19 pandemic is, I figure that I would make something good about it instead of just been stressed out, so I started my blog in Japanese a couple days ago so why not one in English, right??

Anyway, my main thing here would probably be ....... FOOD. lol

Who doesn't like food??

I love food, and I like cooking. I have my days so I am not gonna say that I love it. lol
Like today, I had to push myself to cook, but once I reach to the point (Not sure where it is, yet but I know when I get there), I can usually come up with something to feed my family.

These are what I prepared for dinner tonight.
I figured out that I was gonna cook Chicken fried rice since I had left over rice and chicken but originally, I was gonna just serve it with Gyoza (Chinese dumpling) which I bought from Costco before.

But.

I changed my mind lol

I realized that I fed them Gyoza just a couple days ago. I have 2 boys (One of them is my husband) and they both LOVE Gyoza but my mom did not raise a girl who feed her family same menu back to back.......I'm just kidding. I just don't like to eat same thing back to back myself and that's all.

ANYWAY, I changed my mind in a last minute and cooked Beef and bean sprout.

Oh I love bean sprout!!

They are cheap, they are healthy, and taste good!!  When it's fresh...........
But I don't like to drive 20 - 30 minutes just to get one item (especially now with this craziness) so I bought canned one. They are still pretty good and cheap, healthy as well so since I tried it once, I make sure to pick up a couple every time I see them :)
(Unfortunately, they only keep so many at the store close to me)

I still, sometimes, mess up my fried rice, depends on how soft the rice was cooked and so on,  but it was perfect this time. I was so proud of myself, my husband looked at me like I was crazy lol

This is my first time blogging so I am not going into detail about my recipes, but hopefully I can share it sometime soon.

This is the address to my Japanese Blog.  What I write here and there are not exactly same, so if  you happen to understand both language, please don't think I am crazy. lol   It is just simply a different blog written by a same person, though, I may start writing same contents in English and Japanese just so that I can practice my translation skills ;)

Stay safe!
 
Fried rice w/beef and bean sprout
Chicken fried rice

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Egg sandwich

Konbanwa! Today, I made some goooood egg sandwich. I haven't found these at store since I moved here but if you have been to Japan, you see these at almost any store that sells food. They are typically good but especially the ones from convenience stores are REALLY good. In Okinawa, until 2016, there were 3 main convenience stores. Family Mart, Lawson and HOT SPAR. They each had/has their good point and people usually have their favorite convenience store. Anyway, my favorite convenience store for sandwiches was always Lawson. To me, overall their food quality was the best out of 3 convenience stores. I've been craving for these sandwiches but I haven't been back since I left in 2016, plus, my plan to go back in May was obviously ruined due to this pandemic. The other day, when I was going through my Facebook, I found this recipe named "Best egg sandwich" if I remember correctly. My must items for the morning At this point, I am not s...

Sweet chili meatballs and potato gratin

 Konbanwa!    So I decided to finally cook potato gratin. I've been meaning to cook it for looooooooong time but...... sometimes, it just takes me long time to do what I want to do. Why? That's a one good question that I don't have answer to. I sometimes have conversation with myself, in my head about it but I never got to conclusion. One thing I know is that.....when I actually get to it, when I'm thinking about it, it feels good. Mumm.... seems like I have some deeper issue but, that's not what I meant to talk about today. lol Yesterday afternoon, what I decided to cook first was the sweet meatballs. I am not sure what is the actual name of this dish.   And as I usually do with any recipes...... I modified it a little. It is very easy and simple recipe that had 3 ingredient which include meatball. Ingredients are; * Frozen meatballs 1LB *Grape jam 30ml *Hot chill sauce 20ml What you do is; *Throw frozen meat balls in the slow cook...

No in-person interaction

Assignment from Japanese Saturday School  Konnichiwa!' Today, I would like to talk about yesterday. No, nothing special happened, it was just the another day of quarantine. But night before, we received a call from County school system to announce that we are following Common Wealth's approach and keep schools closed for the rest of school year. WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!! I mean.......I have no problem following orders. I even appreciate for Governor to make quick decision of "Stay Home Healthy". I do not want to send Cadet to school during this pandemic. And I actually like staying home without obligation to make an excuse. But, As I believe a lots of Parents are feeling the same way, I had enough of my child.     LOL Also, my child comes with all kinds of assignment.ugh He is usually on my computer all day because he receives different assignment from his teachers. (Today, I took it from him and sent him to room to practice his clarinet)...